Via de la Plata: 10. Torremejía – Mérida. Visita à Romanolândia / Visit to the Romanland

PT / EN

Etapa 10: Torremejía – Mérida (16 km)

Acordo mais cedo do que o costume para me despedir da Wanda e do Marian. Não esperavam a surpresa e foi com agrado que me viram. Despedimo-nos, um último abraço apertado, muito grata por tê-los conhecido!

O dia começa a clarear, Yves surge e partimos juntos. Hoje sentia-me bem. Mais uma vez, o percurso não tinha grandes dificuldades e após a partida de Yves mais acelerado, tentei manter o ritmo. Correu bem durante a primeira meia hora, mas do nada, sem estar à espera, começam umas dores fortes nas pernas que me impedem de caminhar. Avanço lentamente até um marco sinaléctico próximo (o meu banquinho preferido dos últimos tempos) para descansar. Que decepção! Já faltava tão pouco para chegar a Mérida, cerca de 3km, estava a sentir-me em forma e, de repente, não consigo avançar. Estava a murmurar com os meus botões quando vejo o JB aproximar-se, trocamos umas palavras e seguimos juntos. Pergunto-lhe se está bem e ele surpreende-se. “Se estou bem, porquê?” “Porque costuma caminhar tão rápido e hoje vai tão devagar.” Responde que é apenas para me acompanhar. Claro! :) O pouco tempo que estivemos a caminhar, voltou-me a dar ânimo para prosseguir. Ele decide ficar à entrada de Mérida, antes da ponte, quer esperar pelos outros para entrarem juntos na cidade. Eu, continuo, vou devagar e o mais provável é voltarmo-nos a cruzar ainda antes da chegada ao albergue.

Atravesso a ponte romana que dá entrada em Mérida e cruza o rio Guadiana. Não deixa de ser interessante encontrar o “nosso” rio em terra alheia, como mais tarde viria acontecer com o Tejo, o Douro e o Minho.

Logo à entrada da cidade, uma estátua de uma loba que amamenta Rómulo e Remo, do lado direito, uma fila de turistas para visitar um monumento, mas por agora, sigo pela esquerda até o albergue de peregrinos.

Yves admira-se por ter chegado tão depressa. Depressa?! Quer saber se estou na disposição de ir visitar a cidade. Confesso que estava mortinha para me deitar, mas acedo, a etapa tinha sido pequena e teria mais tempo no final do dia para dedicar ao repouso. Como todos os colchões do andar de baixo dos beliches já estão ocupados, pergunto ao hospitaleiro se posso colocar um dos colchões no chão, está fora de questão subir o beliche. Faz sinal para que não me preocupe e indica-me uma espécie de quarto, apenas com um beliche para casos de necessidade. Mais um pequeno luxo!

Banho tomado, coisas arrumadas, hora de visitar a cidade. Os olhos do Yves brilhavam, estava super entusiasmado e acabou por me contagiar! Circulava a notícia no albergue que para visitar o Anfiteatro e Teatro Romano, a atracção principal da cidade, estava a demorar umas 2 horas para entrar, por isso, decidimos que esse seria o primeiro local a ir, para garantir a visita. Desde o albergue até lá, atravessamos o centro da cidade, aproveitando para ir conhecendo um pouco e ao avistar um posto de turismo, fomos pedir um mapa para ajudar na orientação. Agora tudo se tornava mais fácil!

Felizmente, o tempo de espera na fila foi incomparavelmente menor do que o boato circulado, sendo aproveitado para decidir o roteiro que iríamos seguir durante a tarde. Tínhamos tarefas distintas, ele decidia os locais a visitar, eu a melhor forma de lá chegar.
Estava um calor imenso, os pés que mal tinham descansado, davam sinal e pior, escorregavam-me dentro das sandálias. Como vinha sendo rotina, depois do duche hidratava abundantemente os pés, não me lembrando que hoje iria caminhar mais do que o costume e, claro, deu asneira!

Resumo do dia, visitamos o: Teatro Romano, Anfiteatro Romano, Museo de Arte Romano, Circo Romano, Casa del Mitreo, Alcazaba Árabe e Templo de Diana.

Felizmente, pelo meio, houve tempo para almoço num sítio com ar condicionado que me soube pela vida!

Mérida é uma cidade cheia de História que vale bem a sua visita, uma verdadeira cidade-museu, já que em cada recanto há algo a merecer a nossa atenção.

Depois do passeio turístico, Yves decide procurar um restaurante para jantar, eu que já gastei as economias do dia nas visitas, compro qualquer coisa no supermercado para comer no albergue.

Foi bom ter ido mais cedo, pois reencontrei Eric, que já tinha conhecido há um par de dias. Na altura ele tinha-me parecido um pouco sui generis, tanto no discurso um pouco aluado, como nas vestimentas claras e largas. Ele tem sempre um sorriso na cara e quando me vê um pouco mais séria, puxa por uma gargalhada. Nunca fiz terapia do riso, mas imagino que possa funcionar de forma semelhante. Embora no início o riso seja forçado, a verdade é que acaba por ser contagiante e aí, quando me vê a rir, fica verdadeiramente contente “Gosto de ver todos a sorrirem à minha volta”. Conta-me que por duas vezes perdeu tudo o que tinha, uma por um divórcio conturbado, outra por um acidente, recomeçou do zero, reconstruíu-se e diz que cada vez precisa de menos coisas. Esses dois contratempos vieram-lhe mostrar que não precisava de tanta coisa para viver e diz que o que tem na mochila, aquela que agora carrega, é mais do que suficiente. Conta também que tinha uma lista de coisas que gostaria de fazer, visitar e experimentar e tem vindo a realizá-las, quer aproveitar enquanto tem autonomia e saúde. Percorrer a Via de la Plata é o penúltimo desejo da lista, mas não tem como objectivo chegar a Santiago. Irá até onde lhe der prazer e depois rumará mais a este, para cumprir o último desejo, ver uma tourada ao vivo. Não é que goste especialmente do espectáculo, mas é algo que lhe vem da infância, de ter ouvido falar, não sabe bem como surgiu essa vontade, mas gostaria de realizá-la. Depois, diz não ter mais objectivos, aproveitou a vida o melhor que pôde e “desaparecerá”. Quer que todos se lembrem dele a sorrir. Fico a olhá-lo em silêncio e ele esboça-me um sorriso à espera que retribua. É a custo que o faço. Nesta noite, os meus pensamentos estão concentrados nele e em tudo o que contou, invadindo-me uma emoção grande.

Pontos finais: É tão fácil julgar os outros ainda antes de sequer falarmos com as pessoas, mas depois de conhecermos um pouco mais das suas histórias e circunstâncias, podemos mudar radicalmente de opinião. Aconteceu-me com o Eric e estou-lhe grata pela partilha e momento tão especial. Não sei notícias dele, mas lembro-me com frequência e com um sorriso, sempre com um sorriso.

 Etapas Via de la Plata

LivroUm Caminho para Todos – Diário de uma peregrina no Caminho de Santiago, Via de la Plata e Camino Sanabrés
_________

EN

Stage 10: Torremejía – Mérida (16 km)

(Translation in progress… google translation for now) :\

 According to the alarm sooner than usual because I intend to take my leave of Wanda and Marian. They are always the first to go and how to make a bigger step, I will not return them to find. It is with admiration that see me ready so soon, but are satisfied. We exchanged contacts and one last hug tight, it was very nice to have them known!

While hope dawns, I take to take the breakfast, study guide and write a little. When it starts to clear, Yves comes and we set together. After the hard day yesterday, today I felt good and feet were better match than would be expected. Again, the route had no great difficulties and after accelerated Yves’s departure, tried to keep the pace. It went well for the first half hour, but from nowhere, without waiting, begin a serious pain in the legs that prevent me from walking. Advance slowly to a nearby sinaléctico March (my favorite stool of recent times) to rest. What a disappointment! Already missing so little to get to Merida, about 3km, I was feeling fit and suddenly can not move forward. Was muttering to myself when I see JB approaching, we exchanged a few words and went together. I ask him if he is okay and he surprises himself. “If I’m right, why?” “Because usually walk so fast and today is going so slowly.” Answer that is to just follow me. Of course! :) The little time we were walking, he turned to give me encouragement to continue. He decides to stay at the entrance of Merida, before the bridge, or wait for others to come together in the city. I continue, I go slow and most likely voltarmo us to cross even before arrival at the hostel.
Cross the Roman bridge which gives entry into Merida and crossing the Guadiana river. It is still interesting to find “our” river in a strange land, as would later happen with the Tagus, the Douro and Minho.

At the entrance of the city, a statue of a she-wolf suckling Romulus and Remus who, on the right, a row of tourists to visit a monument, but for now, follow the left to the hostel for pilgrims.

Yves admires for having come so quickly. Quickly ?! Want to know if I’m willing to go sightseeing. I confess I was mortinha to lie, but acedo, the stage was small and would have more time in the day to devote to home. Like all downstairs mattresses of bunk beds are already occupied, I ask the hospitable if I can put one of the mattresses on the floor, out of the question up the bunk. Motions to not worry me and tells me some sort of room, only with a bunk bed in case of need. More a small luxury!
Showered, arranged things, time to visit the city. Yves’s eyes sparkled, was super excited and eventually infect me! Circulated the news in the hostel to visit the amphitheater and Roman Theatre, the city’s main attraction, it was taking about 2 hours to get in, so we decided that this would be the first place to go to ensure the visit. Since the hostel there, go through the town center, taking the opportunity to get to know a little and at the sight of a tourist office, we ask for a map to help orientation. Now everything became easier!

Fortunately, the wait in line was incomparably smaller than the circulated rumor, being taken advantage of to decide the route that would follow in the afternoon. We had different tasks, he decided the places to visit, I the best way to get there.

It was an immense heat, feet barely had rested, gave signal and worse, slipping me in sandals. As had been routine after showering thoroughly hidratava feet, not remembering that today would walk more than usual and, of course, he screwed up!

Summary of the day, we visited:
– Roman Theatre: inaugurated in the year 16 BC, it was home to 6,000 people and ran until the 2nd half of the fourth century. Been buried for centuries, starting the excavations in 1910. Since 1933 is the main setting of the Classical Theatre Festival of Mérida. They say it is an unbearable heat but worth watching the shows and not doubt it, because only the space itself is phenomenal!
– Roman Amphitheatre: opened in the year 8 BC, the scene of battles between gladiators and men and animals.
– Roman Art Museum: spacious and pleasant, with several parts (statues, coins, utensils, etc.) alluding to the Roman occupation. Highlighting the various reconstructed mosaics.
– Roman Circus: date of the beginning of the first century AD and was the largest of the buildings for public entertainment that built the Romans in Merida. In addition to access to the site, there is the projection of a film that makes the reconstitution of space and some activities that took place over there.
– Casa del Mitreo: is a large Roman house belonging to an important family. Next to it are traces related om the cult of Mithras, from which comes its name.
– Alcazaba Arabic: built in 835, a wall protects the river fortress where are preserved architectural remains from different cultural epochs of the city.
– Temple of Diana.

Fortunately, in the middle, there was time for lunch in a place with air conditioning that knew me for life!
Merida is a city full of history that is well worth your visit, a true museum-city, since in every corner there is something to deserve our attention.

After the sightseeing tour, Yves decided to look for a restaurant for dinner, I already spent the savings of the day on visits, buy anything at the grocery store to eat at the hostel.

It was nice to have gone earlier, as rediscovered Eric, who had been known for a couple of days. At the time it had seemed to me a little sui generis both in speech somewhat moonstruck, and in light and loose clothing. He always has a smile on his face and when he sees me a little more serious, pulls for a laugh. I’ve never done laughter therapy, but I imagine it might work similarly. Although at first the laughter is forced, the truth is that turns out to be contagious and then, when you see me laughing, is truly happy “I like to see everyone smile around me.” Tell me who twice lost everything he had, one by a messy divorce, another by an accident, resumed from scratch, is rebuilt and says that increasingly need less things. These two setbacks came to him to show that he did not need so much to live and says what’s in the backpack, one that now bears, is more than enough. Also said that he had a list of things I wanted to do, visit and experience and have been performing them, want to enjoy while having autonomy and health. Scroll through the Via de la Plata is the penultimate wish list, but does not aim to reach Santiago. How far will give pleasure and then you will head over to this, to fulfill the last wish, see a live bullfight. It’s not that especially like the show, but it’s something that comes from her childhood, having heard, do not know and did this will, but I would do it. Then say no more goals, took life as best he could and “disappear”. He wants everyone to remember him smiling. I’m looking at him in silence and he outlines me a smile waiting to repay. It is the cost that I do. This evening, my thoughts are focused on it and all that counted, invading me a thrill.

Final thoughts: It is so easy to judge others even before you even talk to people, but once you know a little more of his stories and circumstances, we can radically change his mind. It happened to me with Eric and I am grateful to him for sharing and special moment. News not know him, but I remember often and with a smile, always with a smile.

Stages of Via de la Plata

Book: A Camino for All – A Pilgrim’s Diary on the Camino de Santiago, The Via de la Plata and the Camino Sanabrés

Deixe uma Resposta

